BODY ART

Art comes in many forms.

The human body is a canvas, and as an undertaker, Harold considers himself an artist. His expertise is bringing the appearance of life back to the dead for their wakes. But when his ex-lovers start arriving in body bags, Harold believes he’s receiving a message to create a new masterpiece. Rutger and Kandi also make their art with flesh. The duo found fame in the golden age of pornography, releasing huge hits in the ’80s and living extravagant lives. Now under the pressure of a new market, one that craves more vile and taboo movies, Rutger hires Kandi once again. This time the job is to create the most shocking porno imaginable. They even draw in two curious teenagers, Toby and Jessica, whose cabin vacation has landed them in the wrong place at the wrong time. Attracted by all of these creations, a mysterious red dust surrounds these unique artists, bringing their worlds together.

THE HORROR FICTION REVIEW
Definitely poised for a place alongside the likes of Wrath James White and Monica J. O’Rourke.
The Grim Reader
Triana’s novel is an 80s style video nasty that will shock readers.
Splatterpunk Zine
It’s the lost collaborative film from Larry Flynt and David Cronenberg.


 

THE RUIN SEASON

Jake Leonard has more than his share of trouble.

He’s close to forty now and still suffers from bipolar disorder and the painful memories of the psychotic episodes that derailed his life and sent him behind bars as a youth. He lives in the rural south where he spends his days breaking horses and his nights training dogs in solitude. His nineteen-year-old girlfriend, Nikki, is the daughter of the sheriff, and she’s just getting worse with drugs, alcohol and satanic metal, eventually leading into heroin and low-budget porn. When Jake reconnects with his ex-wife, things become even more complicated, and the limits of love and sanity get pushed to the breaking point.

The Ruin Season is a haunting tale of a mentally ill man struggling in a violent and heartless world. It is a story of unrequited love, rage, and bloody revenge. It moves forward in the style of gritty southern gothic novels, in the tradition of Larry Brown, Harry Crews, Daniel Woodrell, Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Conner. It shows both the tender and horrible sides of insanity as well as the seedy underbelly of the American, backwoods suburbs.

Jedidiah Ayres Author of Peckerwood
The Ruin Season bristles and lurches powerfully with lust and dope, violence and satanic music, but make no mistake, it’s a runaway train whose engine is pure heart, and Kristopher Triana keeps it on the tracks just long enough to give you hope that the little engine can. Makes it hurt true. Hell of a crash.

Gene O’Neill Author of The Cal Wild Chronicles & Entangled Soul with Chris Marrs
I’ve written that a way to judge the health of a genre is to gauge the number of emerging young, good writers. Kristopher Triana is one of the newest bumper crop of good ones. His prose is excellent, his plots compelling. The Ruin Season has these same qualities… Check out a rising star.
Adrian Shotbolt BeavistheBookhead
The Ruin Season is like the literary equivalent of Springsteen’s classic Nebraska. It’s a book with a stripped back feel, brooding with raw emotion and atmosphere where Triana allows his characters to bare their souls and bleed onto every page… I wouldn’t be surprised to find this on a few ‘best of’ lists by the end of the year.
Benoit Lelievre Author of Dead End Follies
The Ruin Season portrays mental illness and small town dynamics with a grit and a fearlessness I’ve rarely seen before. The compounded, unpredictable and patient storyline really worked a number on me… Triana is a smart and patient storyteller and an underrated tragedian.


 

Growing Dark: A Collection of Short Stories

 

Rue Morgue Magazine

A Must Read.


Cemetery Dance
Whatever style or mode Triana is writing in, the voice matches it unfailingly… Going by the strength of these stories, it s a safe bet we ll be seeing his name a lot more in the years to come.
Max Booth III Author of Toxicity
Triana has a voice unmatched by other writers in his field. His short stories pack more punch than your average novel. Beware of this man’s words, for they are dangerous and contagious.

Jon Mikl Thor Musician, Bodybuilder and Actor (Rock N’ Roll Nightmare, Zombie Nightmare)
Triana’s work really brings the thunder!
Ginger Nuts of Horror
At times reminiscent of early Lansdale, while sometimes toeing that chalkline that the splatterpunks drew on the asphalt.


 

DOA III: Extreme Horror Anthology

Featuring Triana’s new novelette “The Bitch,” as well as stories by Bentley Little, Jack Ketchum, Wrath James White, John McNee, Shane McKenzie, Richard Christian Matheson, Edward Lee, Ryan Harding, John Skipp, Lloyd Kaufman, and many more! Do you dare take a dip into this bucket of blood?


 

Year’s Best Hardcore Horror, Volume 1

Publisher's Weekly
Not for the faint of heart or weak of stomach, the 19 stories in this new best-of annual anthology feature episodes of graphic gore and violence—including torture, dismemberment, self-mutilation, and home abortion—that are designed to push buttons as well as boundaries. In the best stories—which include Kristopher Triana’s “Dead End,” a character study about a hell-bound serial killer… —violent incidents help to bring the brutal lives of their characters into sharp focus and set up poetically just endings.


 

Selfies from the End of the World: Historical Accounts of the Apocalypse, Volume 2

Amazon.com Review
I’m such a big fan of this collection, which takes a simple premise — there are a lot of different ways the world could end, and a lot of different people who could tell those stories — and pulls together a set of stories that shows how diverse, how complicated, and how lovely it can be.

While the collection strikes a lot of tones — funny, contemplative, heartbreaking, loving, hopeful, afraid — it feels focused and polished throughout.

Some of my favorites are Sylvia Heike’s “Winter in My Bones,” Caroline Yoachim’s “An Impromptu Guide to Finding Your Soulmate at a Party on the Last Night of the World,” Nathan Crowder’s “The Last Real Man,” Dusty Wallace’s “Not Even a Whimper,” Kristopher Triana’s “Dog Years,” and Mary Mascari’s “Limbo.”


 

Chilling Horror Short Stories

A deluxe edition of original and classic short stories, packed with monsters, vampires and a host of weird creatures. Tales of shadows and voices in the dark from the likes of H.P. Lovecraft, Edgar Allan Poe, Mary Shelley, Bram Stoker, Nathaniel Hawthorne and William Hope Hodgson are cast with previously unpublished stories by some of the best writers of horror today. A dazzling collection of the most gripping tales of horror, vividly told.


 

D.O.A. II (Dead on Arrival II)

Edward Lee, author of HEADER
Make sure your health insurance covers psychiatric counseling before reading this book, because you’re gonna need it. The experience of this collection may be likened to getting run over by a 666-car locomotive engineered by Lucifer. This is the cream of grotesquerie’s crop, a Whitman’s Sampler of the heinous, and an absolutely gut-wrenching celebration of the furthest extremities of the scatological, the taboo, the unconscionable, and the blasphemous.
Amazon.com review
Every single story they wrote blew me away. The collection starts off with the perfect set piece, a story by Kristopher Triana called “The Devouring,” that sets the mood for all the other stories to follow. Once I read his story, that was it! The rest I just sort of burned right through. I thought, “man if this is what they start with, what the heck will they end with?” 


 

THE GHOST IS  THE MACHINE

Amazon.com review
I read this from Start-to-Finish. So many brilliant stories, well written and beyond belief. A KEEPER.