PRAISE FOR THE RUIN SEASON

Jake Leonard has more than his share of trouble.

He’s close to forty now and still suffers from bipolar disorder and the painful memories of the psychotic episodes that derailed his life and sent him behind bars as a youth. He lives in the rural south where he spends his days breaking horses and his nights training dogs in solitude. His nineteen-year-old girlfriend, Nikki, is the daughter of the sheriff, and she’s just getting worse with drugs, alcohol and satanic metal, eventually leading into heroin and low-budget porn. When Jake reconnects with his ex-wife, things become even more complicated, and the limits of love and sanity get pushed to the breaking point.

The Ruin Season is a haunting tale of a mentally ill man struggling in a violent and heartless world. It is a story of unrequited love, rage, and bloody revenge. It moves forward in the style of gritty southern gothic novels, in the tradition of Larry Brown, Harry Crews, Daniel Woodrell, Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Conner. It shows both the tender and horrible sides of insanity as well as the seedy underbelly of the American, backwoods suburbs.

Jedidiah Ayres Author of Peckerwood
The Ruin Season bristles and lurches powerfully with lust and dope, violence and satanic music, but make no mistake, it’s a runaway train whose engine is pure heart, and Kristopher Triana keeps it on the tracks just long enough to give you hope that the little engine can. Makes it hurt true. Hell of a crash.

Gene O’Neill Author of The Cal Wild Chronicles & Entangled Soul with Chris Marrs
I’ve written that a way to judge the health of a genre is to gauge the number of emerging young, good writers. Kristopher Triana is one of the newest bumper crop of good ones. His prose is excellent, his plots compelling. The Ruin Season has these same qualities… Check out a rising star.
Adrian Shotbolt BeavistheBookhead
The Ruin Season is like the literary equivalent of Springsteen’s classic Nebraska. It’s a book with a stripped back feel, brooding with raw emotion and atmosphere where Triana allows his characters to bare their souls and bleed onto every page… I wouldn’t be surprised to find this on a few ‘best of’ lists by the end of the year.
Benoit Lelievre Author of Dead End Follies
The Ruin Season portrays mental illness and small town dynamics with a grit and a fearlessness I’ve rarely seen before. The compounded, unpredictable and patient storyline really worked a number on me… Triana is a smart and patient storyteller and an underrated tragedian.


Praise for Growing Dark: A Collection of Short Stories

Rue Morgue Magazine

A Must Read.


Max Booth III Author of Toxicity
Triana has a voice unmatched by other writers in his field. His short stories pack more punch than your average novel. Beware of this man’s words, for they are dangerous and contagious.
Jon Mikl Thor Musician, Bodybuilder and Actor (Rock N’ Roll Nightmare, Zombie Nightmare)
Triana’s work really brings the thunder!
Eric Martin Guts and Grog
Triana’s writing will make your soul feel like more maggots are raining out of it than in a Fulci film. It’s hyper reality crossed with the monsters under your bed – and they’re going to fight for your fear.
Ted Prior Actor and Director (Sledgehammer, Deadly Prey, Surf Nazis Must Die)
Kristopher Triana is a great writer with a ton of imagination. His short stories are full of unique twists that keep you wanting more!

Ginger Nuts of Horror
At times reminiscent of early Lansdale, while sometimes toeing that chalkline that the splatterpunks drew on the asphalt.
Tom Bryce Shit Movie Fest
Growing Dark is a nerve-frying collection of short stories.
Matt Kurtz Monkey’s Box of Horrors
Kris Triana is bound to give the big boys of horror a run for their money! Whether it’s ‘quiet’ horror with a slow build or something incredibly extreme, Triana writes characters you care about, fleshing them out so well that you’ll cringe when he suddenly pulls the rug out from under you and viciously flays them alive. Seeing his name attached to any story guarantees you’re in for a great, ghoulish read!


Year’s Best Hardcore Horror, Volume 1

Publisher's Weekly
Not for the faint of heart or weak of stomach, the 19 stories in this new best-of annual anthology feature episodes of graphic gore and violence—including torture, dismemberment, self-mutilation, and home abortion—that are designed to push buttons as well as boundaries. In the best stories—which include Kristopher Triana’s “Dead End,” a character study about a hell-bound serial killer… —violent incidents help to bring the brutal lives of their characters into sharp focus and set up poetically just endings.


Selfies from the End of the World: Historical Accounts of the Apocalypse, Volume 2

Amazon.com Review
I’m such a big fan of this collection, which takes a simple premise — there are a lot of different ways the world could end, and a lot of different people who could tell those stories — and pulls together a set of stories that shows how diverse, how complicated, and how lovely it can be.

While the collection strikes a lot of tones — funny, contemplative, heartbreaking, loving, hopeful, afraid — it feels focused and polished throughout.

Some of my favorites are Sylvia Heike’s “Winter in My Bones,” Caroline Yoachim’s “An Impromptu Guide to Finding Your Soulmate at a Party on the Last Night of the World,” Nathan Crowder’s “The Last Real Man,” Dusty Wallace’s “Not Even a Whimper,” Kristopher Triana’s “Dog Years,” and Mary Mascari’s “Limbo.”


Chilling Horror Short Stories

A deluxe edition of original and classic short stories, packed with monsters, vampires and a host of weird creatures. Tales of shadows and voices in the dark from the likes of H.P. Lovecraft, Edgar Allan Poe, Mary Shelley, Bram Stoker, Nathaniel Hawthorne and William Hope Hodgson are cast with previously unpublished stories by some of the best writers of horror today. A dazzling collection of the most gripping tales of horror, vividly told.


D.O.A. II (Dead on Arrival II)

Edward Lee, author of HEADER
Make sure your health insurance covers psychiatric counseling before reading this book, because you’re gonna need it. The experience of this collection may be likened to getting run over by a 666-car locomotive engineered by Lucifer. This is the cream of grotesquerie’s crop, a Whitman’s Sampler of the heinous, and an absolutely gut-wrenching celebration of the furthest extremities of the scatological, the taboo, the unconscionable, and the blasphemous.
Amazon.com review
Every single story they wrote blew me away. The collection starts off with the perfect set piece, a story by Kristopher Triana called “The Devouring,” that sets the mood for all the other stories to follow. Once I read his story, that was it! The rest I just sort of burned right through. I thought, “man if this is what they start with, what the heck will they end with?” 


 

ZOMBIE JESUS AND OTHER TRUE STORIES

Amazon.com review
These are literary level stories. This is good, alternate history told by authors that did more than just gather their key facts from Wikipedia before banging out a story… [The Editor] makes a bold choice for a closer to this anthology with “Legends” by Kristopher Triana. Immediately, the reader feels the author is telling a story he knows. Heroes and death are always a good match. In this case, that is sometimes true more than once.


 

WRETCHED MOMENTS

Amazon.com review
Wretched Moments sets out to celebrate “the worst of times” by turning the maudlin to the macabre, and… gets it right. Stylistically the stories run the gamut from the elegant and literary to the downright weird. Particularly noteworthy are “Before the Bogeymen Come” by Kris Triana, the aforementioned “Woman on the Horse,” and the fiendishly macabre “Grannibal” by Eric Dimbleby.


 

EARTH’S END

Amazon.com review
When I began reading Earth’s End I had a definite expectation of the standard apocalyptic anthologies I have been consuming for years… When you add the word Sci-fi, it really puts a new spin on the catastrophe/survival theme. No more do you have the tactical, the known- you begin entering a realm where anything might happen. The mind is opened to a brand new survival: dealing with the fantastic element of unknown surprises… [An] author I recommend reading is Kris Triana with [his] creepy story “From the Storms, a Daughter.” Overall Earth’s End is complete with great Sci-fi Apocalyptic fiction.


 

THE GHOST IS  THE MACHINE

Amazon.com review
I read this from Start-to-Finish. So many brilliant stories, well written and beyond belief. A KEEPER.


 

2013: THE AFTERMATH

We’ve all heard the theories… Some say a change is coming; others say we are all doomed. But what happens next? How will humankind adapt to this new Earth? Join us as we take a journey through the end of days and peer into the minds of those who survived it. Some try to save mankind from darkness, some give in to their animal instincts; some search for salvation, others defend their lives against post-apocalyptic mutants. When all you’ve ever known is gone in the blink of an eye, what would you do?


 

HOW THE WEST WAS WICKED

A collection of weird and wicked Western short stories, featuring established and up-and-coming writers.


 

 

Spinetingler Magazine: GIVING FROM THE BROKEN DOWN BOTTOM

Spinetingler Magazine review
“Raw sewage of my solitude” “…he knew to strike while that darkness was pitch black.” “Forever imploding zero.” This I like.